Posted by: lornasass | December 2, 2009

IT’S THAT BERRY TIME OF YEAR

This fall I’ve become enchanted with berries and, knowing that I’m watching out for them, berries seem to be appearing everywhere I look.  Honestly, I never paid attention to berries before.  If you’d asked me a few months ago if berries were all round, I’d have said “yes,” but now I know differently.

Today along the west side of the Reservoir, I saw berries so darkly blue that they were almost black.  I didn’t have my camera, but hope to snatch a photo before the birds eat them or they fall to the ground.

On second thought, it’s possible that birds don’t like black berries. I put some cut branches of orange winter berries in my window boxes and a cardinal appeared to check them out.  He took one bite and spit it out.  I wonder what color berry he prefers.

Now, have a look at the berries below.  Have you ever seen anything like them? I’m glad the birds don’t gobble them all up before we get a chance to appreciate their splendor.


Responses

  1. Berry beautiful photographs!

  2. Some of the berries you photographed are the fruits of viburnum shrubs, many of which the birds will not munch on. Enjoy the bounty of Fall’s “berries”!

    • Oh, that’s very good to know! Thank you. I will check google images for viburnums…

  3. The third picture is a dogwood, and the second one is a very invasive plant called Arum italicum – lovely spade-shaped leaves sometimes with dramatic white veins and those lovely clubs of red-orange fruit. Sad that they aren’t to be trusted…

    • So happy to have these ID’s. TX a lot. Pls keep ‘em comin’.

  4. Berries really are enchanting. In Florida, one of the shrubs that is common here is the beauty berry which really has soft yet eye-catching color.

  5. The last one is Phytolacca, a.k.a., pokeweed it’s a plant that produces black berries. Symptoms of poisoning include vomiting, dyspnea, perspiration, spasms, tremors, watery and/or bloody diarrhea and in severe cases where many berries and possibly the root of the plant are eaten, respiratory paralysis leading to death.

    • Yikes, thanks for letting us know!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

