Posted by: lornasass | May 7, 2011

A DAY IN THE COUNTRY

The Bronx!  Yes, I felt as if I’d been in the country after taking a guided wildflower walk near Orchard Beach in Pelham Bay Park yesterday.  Check out Wildflower Week in NYC for other wonderful activities about native flora being offered for free all this week- and learn why re-introducing and growing native plants makes all kinds of ecological sense.

I wish I could share all of my wildflower pictures with you, but sadly I forgot my beloved SONY Cybershot DSC 20 on a park bench in Union Square this afternoon–before I’d had a chance to download them into my computer.  (Now I find that this camera is no longer being made…If you know of anyone who wants to sell this model, please send them my way!)

Above, in the meanwhile, is a lovely picture of Dutchman’s breeches (Dicentra cucullaria) from the Wildflower Week website, where you can see dozens photos of NYC native plants.  They are quite an impressive lot!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

