Posted by: lornasass | December 28, 2008

PRESSURE PERFECT ON BEST-SELLER LIST!

51kqppmj1gl_sl500_sl150_ Just checked the Amazon.com ratings for fun and was delighted to see that Pressure Perfect is #714 on the cookbook Best-Seller List.  I have a hunch that lots of folks received pressure cookers this holiday season and then ordered the book.  That makes me very happy because it means more healthy meals cooked at home.

Howz about lentil soup in 10 minutes?  This book also teaches you how to do triplex cooking in the “pc” by stacking potatoes, meatloaf, and carrots together and cooking them in 15 minutes.  You’ll find some pressure cooker recipes from this and my other books on http://www.lornasass.com.  Happy Cooking!

p.s. Look for the 20th anniversary edition of COOKING UNDER PRESSURE next fall.


Responses

  1. Lorna, What a delicous blog! What do I have to do to get you to come and give a cooking demo at the Farmingdale Public Library? We all need to know how to use a pressure cooker because it’s such a great time-saver and the food is always tender and luscious. I know because my mother always used a pressure cooker and I never learned how to operate one! Email me when you have a chance–

  2. Lorna:
    I have started using the pressure cooker about two months and I have used dozens of your recipes and they have been wonderful.

    I have a question about the Chicken Biryani, page 192.
    The chicken was cooked perfectly but the rice was still firm….any suggestions?

    Jamie

    • Add a little broth if the mixture seems dry, then replace the lid and let steam in the residual heat until the rice is done. I’m so delighted that you’ve discovered the pressure cooker! Please spread the word. TX! Lorna

  3. Thank you for your response and tried the recipe again and it worked perfectly. I have another question .. Before I used the pressure cooker I used Tori Ritchie’s book Braises and Stews.How do I convert a non pressure cooker recipe to a pressure cooker recipe?

    Thank you,
    Jamie
    P.S. I also live on the UWS

    • Follow the recipe but cook for 1/3 the recommended cooking time. Decrease the liquid by about 20 percent. Use the natural pressure release. Let me know how it goes. Happy cooking!


Leave a Reply

Categories

