Posted by: lornasass | January 12, 2009

MY MAUI UP CLOSE: LOOKING DOWN ON CLOUDS

The trip to Haleakala volcanic crater took me by surprise. Not since I’d been to the Andes in 1966 have I had the experience of looking down upon clouds–except, of course, when peering out of an airplane window. Here are some photos of the ascent, the clouds, and then the crater itself which one views from a height of over 10,000 feet. The crater, I’m told, is the size the another island: my home town of Manhattan.

img_1416

img_1396

img_1440


Leave a Reply

Categories

