Posted by: lornasass | February 25, 2009

FALLEN TREES IN CENTRAL PARK

The severe winds last week knocked down a lot of trees in the Central Park ramble.  Others that were about to fall were sawed down to stumps by the Conservancy staff.  There are more fallen limbs than I’ve ever seen, making the Ramble seem even more wild than usual.  Although I suspect they’ll slowly be removed, I’d prefer they were left just where they are so that I can document their slow return to the earth.

Here are some close-ups of the fallen.

img_2819

img_28263

img_2829

img_2837

img_28351

img_28281


Responses

  1. I like to take photos of trees like this.

    I recently took some of some fallen trees that had moss and other little trees starting to grow on top.

    This is a prime example of the cycle of life that takes place all around us.

  2. I just had a look. Your photos are inspiring. TX for being in touch. Lorna


Leave a Reply

Categories

