Posted by: lornasass | February 25, 2009

HINTS OF SPRING

I went for my daily walk in Central Park in search of spring.  Just after the path leading into the park from the Hunter’s Gate entrance at 79th Street, I found what appear to be narcissus poking through the hard earth.

img_2852

Next I came upon some snow drops, aptly named, just down the steps from Belvedere Castle.  Sometimes I’ve seen these little beauties actually surrounded by snow, but today the surroundings were not at all frosty.

img_28481

In the Ramble, the nuthatches seemed content enough to bask in the sun, even though their little feeding basket was empty.

img_2817

Heading back home along Central Park West, I spotted a woman taking photos of the evergreen branches decoratively arranged on the ground in front of the Beresford.  At first I was puzzled, but when I looked more closely, I saw what she was excited about.img_2862

I wasn’t the only one searching for and documenting hints of spring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

