Posted by: lornasass | March 23, 2009

WAVE HILL SUCCULENT PLANTS

The Sweetie and I headed up to Wave Hill in Riverdale yesterday  and never did the Bronx look so enticing.  I was aiming to photograph the early spring posies at this spectacular public garden overlooking the Hudson River and the Palisades–and I did.

But what drew even louder “oohs” and “aahs” from me were the succulent plants in the greenhouse.  I had seen this collection before and it’s always been impressive, but never did it look better–perhaps because I’m usually up there when the spring flowers or autumn vistas are so mind-boggling that there’s little room left to appreciate anything else.  As you’ll see, I was so transported I forgot to write down a few of the complete names.

close-up of euphorbia obesa

Close-up of Euphorbia obesa

Kalanchoe thrysafolia

Kalanchoe thrysafolia

Rhipsalis

Rhipsalis

Kalanchoe caniflora

Kalanchoe caniflora

Dioscorea elephantipes

Dioscorea elephantipes

Gasteria

Gasteria

img_3662

Echevaria


Responses

  1. […] lornasass put an intriguing blog post on WAVE HILL SUCCULENT PLANTS « Lorna Sass At LargeHere’s a quick excerptBut what drew even louder “oohs” and “aahs” from me were the succulent plants in the greenhouse. I had seen this collection before and it’s always been impressive, but never did it look better–perhaps because I’m usually up there when … […]

  2. Dear Lorna,
    I have been getting your emails for about 2 months now and have finally had the time to look carefully at each of them. I am so impressed with your photography skill and artistic eye. Could you tell me what type and brand camera or cameras you use. I have a simple digital but am looking for a more advanced one. And what computer program do you use. I now have 6 grandchildren and would like to take and print photos of them as they grow up.
    I recently took a class in 35mm black and white photography and developed my own pictures. I loved it, but don’t have access to the equipment anymore.
    I have cooked from several of your cookbooks over the years and especially your pressure cooker recipes. As a still-working woman who loves to cook, I appreciate the speed and succulence of food from the PC. (I’ve used a PC since my mother had one when I was a little girl: the most memorable event was when the pea soup ended up imbedded into the ceiling and walls of our kitchen. After a thorough cleaning, she repainted everything.) I’m planning on making the ratatouille soup and the risotto with mozzerella & sun-dried tomatos this weekend.
    My husband and I just returned from almost a month in Sicily and I had the most amazing risotto with wild mushrooms I am going to try to replicate. Of course, it won’t be possible to replicate the setting – a hilltop resturant overlooking the south shore of Sicily. And of course, I photographed the food so I have more than a gustatory memory.
    Thank you for your wonderful newsletters. I hope you have time to send me info about the cameras and computer program you use.
    Sincerely,
    Francesca Gwinnell


Leave a Reply

Categories

