Posted by: lornasass | August 22, 2009

A SUNFLOWER EPIPHANY

DSC03384I always thought that sunflowers were dopey braggarts, all show and no complexity.  But today a  large bouquet of cut sunflowers sitting in the rain at a farmer’s market caught my eye, demanding that I look more closely.

It was a revelation.  The tiny drops of water that landed on the upturned flowers startled me into noticing that their centers are as magnificent and multi-colored as the most intricate beadwork. The petals, by contrast, are all yellow, but can have dramatic changes of the color from one flower to the next and subtle changes of color within each petal.

I ran back to the car to get my camera.  During the course of the day, I took notice of sunflowers here and there and experienced them at various stages of their life cycle, knowing that I was seeing it all for the first time.

DSC03392

DSC03386

DSC03410

DSC03406


Responses

  1. Gorgeous! We have fields and fields of them 5 minutes from our house. I’ll try to get some pictures for you.
    And whoever knew that you had lunched with Julia!!!! TWO degrees of separation!


Leave a Reply

Categories

