Posted by: lornasass | October 19, 2009

HYDRANGEA EPIPHANY

I always thought hydrangeas were big, round, and dopey–the ultimate suburban shrub.  Indeed, they were a front-yard cliche in the Long Island suburb of my youth.  Last month the sweetie took me to a jazz festival in Chatauqua, way upstate in western New York.

Everyone in the community vies to have the most beautiful garden. From a distance, some of the bushes reminded me of how dull hydrangeas can be.  In all fairness, it was the end of the season and most blooms were not in their prime:

DSC04036

But some bushes forced me to drop my distain and take a closer look.

I was amply rewarded by the subtle gradations in color.

So my advice to all is this:  Next time you pass a hydrangea in bloom, zoom in on it.

DSC03980

DSC03979

DSC04082


Responses

  1. Hi Lorna,
    Vaguely remember those hydrangea bushes but mostly remember the lilacs.
    I always think of you and Andy Heimer on my birthday because we used to occasionally celebrate together.
    Many more Happy Birthdays and glad I happened on your site. Very exciting to see how far you’ve come from syllabub.
    Best regards,
    Janice

    • How lovely to hear from you on my birthday and you made me laugh out loud with your syllabub remark. What are you up to these days? Nostalgic memories. Lorna


Leave a Reply

Categories

