Posted by: lornasass | December 7, 2009

QUICK FIX WITH ROLAND’S SATAY PEANUT SAUCE

When I was working on SHORT-CUT VEGAN, I came to appreciate the value of having good-tasting storebought sauces around for quickly prepared meals that were packed with good flavor.  Recently I discovered Roland’s Satay Peanut Sauce and it’s become a staple in my kitchen.  I really enjoy its distinctive peanutty taste and appreciate that it contains no MSG! (But strict vegans will want to know that there is a small amount of shrimp paste in it.)

The Sweetie showed up with lots of interesting vegetables from the Korean market.  We stir-fried them with some shrimp and had a delicious supper.  I like to dilute the peanut sauce with water about 1 to 1; in other words if I’m adding 3 tablespoons of sauce, I’ll first dilute it with 3 tablespoons of water.  I toss the sauce in for the last few minutes of cooking.

I’ve also used it to make a quick dinner of Trader Joe’s Shu Mai microwaved with TJ’s soycutash.  How lazy can you get?

Styling and photo copyright Lorna Sass, 2009


Responses

  1. Roland Satay Peanut Sauce does contain a small amount of shrimp paste, which would make it neither vegan nor vegetarian. It is all-natural, according to the Roland Foods website.

    • Good to know! TX.


Leave a Reply

Categories

