Posted by: lornasass | December 29, 2009

MY MAUI: BROMELIADS GONE WILD

There are over 2,500 varieties of bromeliads. At home I always try to have one or two in residence:  they make very rewarding houseplants. To the left is the type I often keep as a houseplant.  I always try to find one with variegated leaves.

The colorful flower (technically called inflorescence) on each plant lasts quite a few months and then dries prettily. They require little care, just an occasional watering into the “funnel” from which the flower emerges.

The pineapple is a type of bromeliad that I eat on a regular basis. Click here for a great site with lots of good info about these fascinating plants.

Here on Maui, the bromeliads grow wild and are so huge that they appear to be on steroids.  Below are a few varieties I saw yesterday.  I focused my camera on the inflorescences because I couldn’t keep my eyes off them.


Responses

  1. Lovely photos of the Bromeliads! The colors of these plants are extremely beautiful. Last time I remember seeing any of these plants in quantity and quality was when I was in a huge office building in Toronto, they had them everywhere. I did have one growing in my sun room at home up in Canada as well. Organic Pineapple is my favorite fruit, I just love it!! I am so enjoying your pictures and descriptions…keep them coming!
    Joey


Leave a Reply

Categories

