Posted by: lornasass | July 21, 2010

RE-DISCOVERING MUESLI

When I was in the Chatsworth Farm Shop in Devonshire–a place that reminded me of the first Dean & DeLuca in NYC–a place that made a person want to buy everything so enticingly wrapped and so artistically arranged on the shelves–I spotted Chatsworth’s own branded Homemade Muesli with Honey.

Despite the fact that I was quite certain that the Duchess of Devonshire (ne Deborah Mitford) hadn’t tossed the concoction together herself, I couldn’t resist making the purchase.

This muesli is a far cry from the original muesli made simply of very thinly sliced and steamed, pressed oat grits–and it is delicious.  No ingredients are listed, but I can see that beyond the oats there are sunflower and pumpkin seeds, dried coconut, bran “sticks,” sesame seeds, chopped Brazil nuts, raisins, and dried (happily unsweetened) bananas.  There are at least a half dozen different mixtures on the shelves in natural food stores and at least one type in supermarkets everywhere in Britain.

(I’m almost positive I have a recipe for muesli in one of my vegetarian cookbooks, but I can’t remember which one and I’m not at home to check.  For sure, there’s a delicious granola recipe in WHOLE GRAINS EVERY DAY, EVERY WAY.)

I like to mix the muesli with yogurt (so creamy and especially delicious here in Britain), fresh strawberries, and slices of clementine.  I mixed the mush together before remembering to taking the photo, so it’s not “food-styled” but it sure tasted good.

Makes a nice, light dinner as well as a hearty breakfast.  A highly recommended purchase the next time you’re visiting Chatsworth or your local healthfood store.


Leave a Reply

Categories

